Tuesday, 17 March 2015

Our People

Government Law College Thiruvananthapuram

By Nebil Nizar

The Government Law College Thiruvananthapuram, established in 1875, is one of the most prestigious and oldest institutions imparting legal education in India.The students of this alma mater have made her proud by imprinting their names in all fields of excellence. Notable alumnus include

Speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly
Shakthan Nadar

Sitting Kerala High Court Judges
1- Justice. T.R. Ramachandran nair
2- Justice. Chidambaresh
3- Justice. Shafeeque
4- Justice. A.V. Ramakrishna Pillai
5- Justice. Kamal Pasha

Present Kerala State Ministers
1- Ramesh Chennithala (Home Minister, Kerala)
2- Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan (Sports Minister, Kerala)

Sitting Members of Parliament
1- Dr. A Sampath
2- N.K Premachandran
3- Jose K. Mani
4- M.I Shanavas
5- M.B. Rajesh

Sitting Member of Legislative Assembly
P.C. Vishnunath

Former Supreme Court Judges
1- Justice M. Fathima Beevi (First women SC Judge)
2- Justice K.K Mathew
3- Justice Cyriac Joseph

Former High Court Chief Justice
1- Justice K Sreedharan (Gujarat)

Former Kerala High Court Judges
1- Justice Siri Jagan
2- Justice. Harun Al Rashid
3- Justice. K.P Balachandran
4- Justice N Krishnan Nair
5- Justice. M.R Hariharan Nair
6- Justice A Laskhmi Kutty

Former Travancore High Court Judge (Princely state)
1- Justice. P Habeeb Mohammed

Former Governor
1- K Vishwanatham (Gujarat 1973-78)

Former Kerala Legislative Assembly Speakers
1- R Shankara Narayana Thampi (First Speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly)
2- D. Damodharan Potti
3- K.M. Seethi Sahib

Former Kerala Chief Ministers
1- R. Shankar
2- C. Achutha Menon
3- P.K Vasudevan Nair

Former Prime Minister of Princely state
1- E. Ikkanda Warrier (State of Cochin, 1948)

Former Kerala Ministers
1- M.N Govindan Nair
2- T.M Jacob
3- Mathew T Thomas
4- G Sudhakaran

Former Central Ministers
1- E Ahmed (Former MoS, External Affairs)
2- Kodikunnel Suresh (Former MoS, Labour)
3- Mullapally Ramachandran (Former Mos, Home Affairs)

Former MLA
K.G.N Namboothiri (Changanassery)

Former Mayor
Sabitha Begum (Kollam)

1- M.K.K. Nair (Former IAS officer)
2- M. Abdul Sathar Kunju (Former IPS officer and Ex-Kerala Police Chief)
3- Malayatoor Ramakrishnan (Former IAS officer and award winning writer)
4- K.C. Sanal Kumar (Former IAS officer)
5- Ajith Joy (Former IPS officer)
6- Sayeed Rashid (Indian Postal Service)
7- Prasanth Nair (Indian Administrative Service)

1- K.M. Mathew (Former Chief Editor, Malayala Manorama)
2- Cherian Philip ( Consultant, Kairali T.V; Former KSU State President and KTDC Chairman)

1- Rasool Pookutty (Oscar award winner)
2- Anoop Menon (Actor/ Script writer)
3- Shankar Ramakrishnan (Actor/ Script writer)
4- Sudheep (Playback singer)

1- Dr. N.R. Madhava Menon (Founder of N.L.S.I.U, N.U.J.S. and N.J.A.)
2- Prof. P.S. Achuthan Pillai (Former Principal of Government Law College Thiruvananthapuram and noted legal author)
3- Dr. V.K. Unni (Associate Professor, I.I.M- Calcutta and holder of Max Plank India Fellowship)
4- Dr. Bismi Gopalakrishnan (Dr. B.R Ambedkar Chair, Center for Human Rights and Social Justice, University of Kerala)

Former faculty members again made GLC proud :-
1- K.R Udayabhanu (Later Judge, High Court of Kerala)
2- K.R Reghunathan (Principal, Government Law College, Kozhicode)
3- H Abdul Azeez (Director, Malappuram Center, Aligarh Muslim University)
4- S Usha (Principal, S.N. Law College, Kollam)
5- Dr. R Rajashekaran Nair (Principal, N.S.S. Law College, Kollam)
6- Dr. K.S Ajayakumar (Principal, Co-operative School of Law, Thodupuzha)


No comments:

Post a Comment